with CLIPREVIEWED learn the articleInstagram’s ‘Recently Deleted’ Feature Protects Posts From Hackers
Instagram’s new Recently Deleted feature helps users manage content—whether you accidentally discarded a photo or got hacked and want to restore your feed.
“We know this is something people have been asking for and now, for the first time, you can review and restore deleted content in the Instagram app,” a company blog post announced. “We also added protections to help prevent hackers from compromising your account and deleting posts you’ve shared.”
With this update, photos, videos, reels, IGTV recordings, and stories you expunge are immediately removed from your account. But instead of being erased forever, they get stored in the Recently Deleted folder. Think of it like a recycling bin—with a padlock.
Ephemeral stories not in your archive stay in the digital dossier for up to 24 hours; everything else is automatically deleted 30 days later. During those 30 days, users can access scrubbed content by visiting Settings > Account > Recently Deleted on the latest version of the Instagram app.
“We know hackers sometimes delete content when they gain access to an account, and until now people had no way of easily getting their photos and videos back,” Instagram said. This long-awaited function, rolling out now to all users, requires folks to verify that they are the rightful account holders when permanently deleting or restoring content.
While the fresh feature serves as a form of multi-step verification, it is not a substitute for actual two-factor authentication, which aims to stop intruders before they even have the option of clearing out your feed.
keyword: Instagram’s ‘Recently Deleted’ Feature Protects Posts From HackersInstagram’s ‘Recently Deleted’ Feature Protects Posts From HackersInstagram’s ‘Recently Deleted’ Feature Protects Posts From Hackers